Phone: 239-477-1000
Emergency: 911
Facebook Twitter Instagram

FAQs

Question:

What is the Sheriff's Levy Procedure and what are the requirements?

Answer:

Lee County Sheriff's Office

Levy Procedure and Requirements

Sheriff's Star

Before the Sheriff can proceed with levy on property, the following must be received from the levying creditor.


For Levy on Personal Property:

  1. WRIT OF EXECUTION either on docket with the Sheriff’s Office prior to October 1, 2001 or a newly issued Writ of Execution.
     
  2. INSTRUCTIONS FOR LEVY specifically described property to be levied upon. If a specific description is unknown, or impossible to levy, the plaintiff or his/her attorney or agent must accompany the officer to the levy to point out and inventory specific property and have the inventory signed, dated and made a part of the Instructions for Levy as Exhibit “A”.
     
  3. Sufficient cost deposit:
    • $1700.00 for automobiles
    • $1800.00 to $3000.00 for vessels (you may call 239-477-1356 for additional information) .
    • $10,000.00 to $30,000.00 for levy on inventory of a business (you may call our office at 239-477-1356 for additional information).
       
  4. Addresses of all parties.
  5. Affidavit as required by Florida Statutes, Section 56.27 (4) (a) (b) (c).
  6. Copy of Final Judgement.
  7. Copy of registration as proof of ownership.
  8. Copy of Judgment Lien Certificate.

For Levy on Real Property:

  1. WRIT OF EXECUTION either on docket with the Sheriff’s Office prior to October 1,2001 OR a newly issued Writ of Execution.
     
  2. INSTRUCTIONS FOR LEVY with a complete legal description of the real property to be levied upon. If the legal description is lengthy that it cannot be described fully, you may attach an Exhibit “A” describing the real property.
     
  3. Sufficient cost deposit:
    • $650.00 for a short legal description containing no more than 10 lines.
    • $1,300.00 to $1,500.00 for legal descriptions that are more lengthy (you may call 239-477-1356 for additional information).
       
  4. Addresses of all parties.
  5. Affidavit as required by Florida Statutes, Section 56.27 (4) (a) (b) (c).
  6. Copy of Final Judgment.
  7. Copy of Deed.